SOČR & Jessica Cottis SOČR & Jessica Cottis SOČR & Jessica Cottis
back to the program

SOČR & Jessica Cottis

The Prague Spring festival regrets to report that due to personal reasons the conductor Alondra de la Parra had to withdraw from the concert on 2 June at the Municipal House. The programme will remain unchanged, and standing in for Alondra de la Parra will be the conductor Jessica Cottis. 

Date of Event

Sunday, 2. 6. 2019 from 20.00
Expected end of the concert 21.40


250 - 700 CZK Sold out


  • Dmitri Shostakovich: Festive Overture Op. 96
  • Alexander Arutiunian: Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra in A flat major
  • Igor Stravinsky: Petrushka (burlesque scenes in four tableaux)


  • Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra
  • Jessica Cottis - conductor
  • Manuel Blanco - trumpet

Partners of the concert


Jessica Cottis Standing in for the Conductor Alondra de la Parra

The Prague Spring festival regrets to report that due to serious personal reasons the conductor Alondra de la Parra  has withdrawn from the concert on 2 June at the Municipal House.

The programme will remain unchanged, and standing in for Alondra de la Parra will be the conductor Jessica Cottis. 

Born in Australia and a dual British-Australian citizen, Jessica Cottis was awarded a first class honours degree in organ, piano and musicology from the Australian National University and continued her studies as an organist with Marie-Claire Alain in Paris, winning awards from the Royal Philharmonic Society and Royal College of Organists. A wrist injury subsequently halted her playing career and, after reading Law, she began conducting studies in 2006, studying with Colin Metters and Sir Colin Davis on the postgraduate conducting course at the Royal Academy of Music. Cottis was awarded the Academy’s top conducting prizes upon graduation in July 2009, the same month she was appointed to her positions at the BBC SSO and RCS, and also Manson Fellow in Composition at the Royal Academy of Music.

Her international career was launched through close working relationships with mentors including Vladimir Ashkenazy and Donald Runnicles. From 2009 to 2011 she was Assistant Conductor at the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and Fellow in Conducting at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, and from 2012 to 2014 Assistant Conductor of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra where she conducted over thirty concerts per year with the orchestra, being lauded in the Australian press as
“one of the big hopes for change”.

In 2018-19 season, Jessica will perform in her Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra debut, as well as revisiting the City of London Sinfonia, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, London’s Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, laVerdi in Milan, and the OBC in Barcelona. She will return to work for the Royal Opera House in London again, conducting the premieres of two significant new opera commissions. She will return also to her native Australia to conduct Canberra Symphony Orchestra, as well as Monash Academy Orchestra in Melbourne.

This concert will begin with the Festive Overture by Dmitri Shostakovich, a musical fireworks with just the right blend of pomp and glittering overstatement, which will showcase the qualities of orchestra and conductor alike. The skills of the winner of the prestigious ARD Competition, trumpeter Manuel Blanco, will be put to test by the virtuoso yet accessible Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra by Armenian composer Alexander Arutiunian, a work which has since its premiere in 1950 joined the list of the best-loved concertos for this instrument. The programme will be capped by Stravinsky´s Petrushka, orchestral suite from the eponymous ballet which was commissioned from the composer by the legendary impresario, Sergei Diaghilev, and which premiered in Paris. The ballet´s colossal success prompted Stravinsky to turn its key musical numbers to an orchestral suite (in the same way as he did in the case of another of his ballets, Firebird, the suite from which you will be offered by the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, during its concert on 4 June). The Petrushka suite has to date lost nothing of its power to enthrall the listener by its sheer dynamism, exemplifying Stravinsky´s groundbreaking, and indeed timeless contribution, among other things in his handling of contrasts, often evocative of film editing. While this may come naturally to today´s audience, at the time of the work´s origin (1911), it was extremely unusual.

This concert is supported by Acción Cultural Española (AC/E).